RSS Feed

Punishment

Posted on

I was bad to my body and made it take hormones for twice as long without a break and now it is taking its revenge by giving me two days of cramps and this atrocious raging headache.  I’m going back to bed, as the light is killing me.  I shall try to write more tomorrow.  Sorry.

Update

Geoff insisted that I cannot set the dangerous precedent of allowing three lines to stand as a daily blog post, no matter how bad the headache may have been.  So here are some further thoughts for yesterday.

I was experiencing mild pain and discomfort from the time I woke up.  It was a rough day all around.  When I returned from lunch, the sun seemed to be shining so brightly through the window into my face that I put on my sunglasses while sitting at my desk.  Yesterday was actually cloudy and rainy, so this should have been a clear indication that things were getting worse.  I got so bored at my desk that I actually snuck out and went to buy the only box of cornmeal in all of Taiwan at Finga’s.  I have big plans for this cornmeal, including cornmeal pancakes soaked in honey.  I can’t wait.  It will be orgasmic.

But my original excuse for buying this elusive dry good was to make Nigella’s blueberry cornmeal muffins.  I don’t even like blueberries, but the recipe was in my book so I wanted to make them.  They turned out pretty amazing.  They were a big hit with the office crowd.  I was in a significant amount of pain as I was making them though and went to bed almost immediately after the second batch came out of the oven to cool.

Since my mom died of a brain tumor, I get the tiniest bit nervous when I have a headache, especially when I have several within a short amount of time.  I’m sure it’s nothing to worry about.  I’m sure this headache is PMS-related.  And yet there’s the tiniest whisper in the back of my mind that wishes I could get an MRI every time I feel the slightest bit of tension.

I took Stephen Fry to bed with me once again via my iPod and Goblet of Fire.  He read me to sleep and I didn’t wake up until about sixty seconds before Geoff came home from work.  I felt terrible about not making him dinner, but there was just no way I could spend more time in a lit room.  I got up and ate the one berry-less muffin I made and went straight back to bed.  Even when Geoff woke up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, the headache was still there.  I was so grateful to wake up without pain.  Now to make it through this day.  One at a time.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a comment