RSS Feed

Shifting Focus

Posted on

I’ve hardly spent any time since our return from England watching TV or movies.  This is extremely contrary to my usual routine.  Normally I try to fit in as much award-winning film and television as I can before my husband gets home.  But for some reason, I’ve been devoting most of my evening time to baking and reading.  Tonight mostly just the latter.  Interspersed with gorgeous baking blogs filled with luscious photos, I’ve been reading Nigella Kitchen cover to cover (yes you can do that with a cookbook), Middlemarch by George Eliot, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, and slowly but surely on the side working my way through a second read of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clark.

As a total aside, I just had to stop writing and apply insect repellent while sitting in my living room.  I think I just got three bites in the last ten minutes.

 The Graveyard Book has been such a fantastic adventure.  I’ve read a couple of Neil Gaiman’s books before, preferring American Gods over Anansi Boy.  This book is geared toward a much younger audience, but I have absolutely no qualms with reading a children’s book.  My bookshelf is littered with juvenile literature   You’re talking to a girl who’s read Harry Potter like ten times.  The Graveyard Book tells the story of Nobody Owens, who is raised by ghosts in a graveyard.  Each chapter is very episodic so it’s easy to read one chapter and feel satisfied and put it away for the night.  I definitely recommend reading it if you’re looking for something fun and entertaining.

It should come as no shock that I’m a little in love with reading baking blogs.  There are so many talented people out there who intimidate me like crazy.  I’m trying to shift this to an attitude of inspiration.  I should just go ahead and try some of their recipes.  I know I have tons to learn, especially about decorating.  I don’t think I’ll ever have the time and patience to make sugar flowers or sculpt a towering (I just satisfyingly sizzled that mosquito) wedding cake.  And I’m not too sad about that.  It seems like tedious work better left to more capable people.  I also have no interest in photography other than looking at other people’s amazing photos.  But I am looking forward to making some outrageously yummy things.  Perhaps I’ll save those chocolate chip cookies I’ve been thinking about for the picnic we have planned for this Saturday.  If I can wait that long.  And my mouth waters every time I think about those cornmeal pancakes I want to make Saturday morning.  Yum.  I could die.

As for this evening, I have some bacon to crisp up in the very near future.  Bacon and egg burritos tonight fulfill my love of breakfast for dinner and my husband’s obsession with salsa all in one fell swoop.  Everybody’s happy.  Life is peachy.  Perfect wonderful amazing.  Why do I ever leave my kitchen?

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a comment