RSS Feed

My Quiet Life

Posted on

I wish all weekends were of the three day variety.  I actually feel rejuvenated after a long stressful week.  Friday night we went out for dinner at Uzo and came home and fell asleep pretty early.  The weekend weather was absolutely perfect.  After some quality couch time, we walked to Little Europe via the botanical garden and the gelatto shop.  We both got a 30 minute shampoo and a haircut then met a friend for a nice dinner at Fatty’s.  Geoff and I stayed in for the evening to watch Die Hard 4 (I’ve now seen them all, which hopefully means I’ll never have to watch them again).

Sunday we waited for Zach to crawl out of bed, then headed to the Early Bird for chocolate chip pancakes.  After being sufficiently fed, we headed off for an adventure in our own city.  We found a place called the rainbow village.  A tiny little area of barracks covered completely in colorful creatures and faces that have been painted onto every surface.  It was packed with people, but we still managed to get a few good photos.  After that, we headed over to Tonghai University where we wandered around the campus visiting cows, a lovely lake, and an interesting chapel.  The grounds are absolutely beautiful.  The best landscaping I’ve seen in Taiwan.  Even though I was exhausted from our day of walking, we still had to eat.  We ended up at PJ’s for the first time.  Geoff said it was the best burger he’s had in Taiwan.  We ran into some old acquaintances there and passed several hours drinking and chatting.  It was a lovely day.  Made even more sweet by the fact that I didn’t have to go to work in the morning.

Today I woke up early to try to watch the Oscars, but no live stream was to be found.  So I followed the NPR Monkeysee live blog to try to keep up with the action.  In the afternoon, we went for a walk to find the exact location of the household registry office for our district.  The plan is to go there tomorrow at lunch time to file our marriage certificate.  Pizza and David Attenborough talking about bugs has rounded out the day.  Oh, and I’ve been baking chocolate chip cookies six at a time for most of the evening.

Tomorrow it’s back to work.  But only for four days, then I get another weekend.  Another chance to breathe.  I love my quiet life spent with friends and a man who seems to never get tired of me.  I must say, at the moment, I am quite content.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a comment