RSS Feed

Dilemma

Posted on

I went for a job interview yesterday for a low paying position doing work I find terribly depressing dealing with people who are in a bad situation. Not helping them, but taking from them. Still I’m currently making zero dollars an hour, so ten would definitely be an improvement. But is it enough to have to deal with people who are in desperate situations every day?

Every day I have a secret wish that the agency will call me and offer me a temp to hire position with the Foodbank. I’m comfortable there. I know what to expect. I can feel good about the organization I work for.  I would even work part time or as needed if it meant that I didn’t have to do a job I hate.

But I desperately need work, and by work of course, I mean money.

Naturally, the work I want to do doesn’t make me any money at all. Getting a job means there’s a lot less time for it. I guess I’ll just have to work harder.

I’m also secretly hoping that one of the other two people interviewing for this position today will be really outstanding and need/want the job more than me, so that I won’t have to make the difficult decision to turn it down.  Or take it. And work for the devil for the rest of my life.

I suppose I could take it until I can go back to the Foodbank in November. Ugh. What should I do?

In other news, I made this awesome calzone grilled cheese sandwich and took it’s picture for you. Make one. It will cheer you up after a day of agonizing.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

