RSS Feed

An Honor

Posted on

Friday was my last day of work at the Foodbank. The kindness was just overwhelming.

Around 11:00, my supervisor came and got me from the copy room to take me out to lunch. Almost the entire department met up in a little Italian restaurant downtown where one of the board members had some art on exhibit. They presented me with two leis, and a card (with the good stuff inside), then proceeded to tell me how much they loved working with me and how they would really miss me and try to have me back. They said they’d never done anything like this for one of their temps in the past. In fact, the ED actually said she didn’t even want to use the word temp.

If you know me at all, you know I’m terrible at having people pay attention to me, especially when they’re saying nice things. You can imagine how I turned into a completely awkward lunatic at this point, trying to put into words my gratitude, not only for the work they gave me and the much needed income, but also for their generosity and emotional support. These people have been with me through some really tough times. They made me feel like I had friends, and for me, that is really saying something.

After work, I came home to finish off some cupcakes for a Treatsies order, and a friend brought over some pizza and visited with the chickens. It was all so lovely and wonderful until about 8:45 when my stomach started cramping, and I spent the night on the futon going back and forth to the bathroom.

I guess that’s the universe’s way of putting me back in my place and reminding me that I am not a beautiful and unique snowflake.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

