RSS Feed

Monotony and Surprises

Posted on

My job can be pretty boring sometimes. Like, claw your eyes out boring. I suppose it’s better than “ruining” children’s lives, but mindless, droning work isn’t exactly rewarding. I try to keep my mind busy with podcasts, and I probably check my phone way more than is actually necessary. I’m the kind of person who usually feels the need to do about eight things at once, so being bored is rather frightening. That combined with having to sit still for the entire day can be brutal. It’s getting to the point where my coworkers actually feel sorry for me when giving me new boring tasks to accomplish.

My evening ended up being rather hectic, though, as a coworker put in a last minute Treatsies order. I found myself having to stop into Costco on my way home from work, and then make a double batch of white chocolate raspberry blondies. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to photograph them, so they won’t even be appearing on the blog. I’ve had people tell me it’s one of their favorite desserts, so I hope I can share them with you.

I also had to prepare a post for Awesome on 20 about working out without paying for it. I seriously don’t get why people buy gym memberships. There are plenty of stairs you can walk up and down for free. Why go to a yoga class and have people sweating all over you when you can do it in your own living room? And for goodness sake, what the hell is up with running on a treadmill. Running isn’t boring enough? You have to do it without actually going anywhere or seeing anything? Baffling.

Someday I will get caught up. Someday my skin will stop burning and my head will stop pounding and my stomach will stop turning. Someday. But not this day.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

