RSS Feed

Call the Plumber

Posted on

I know. I owe you two blog posts. I spent a significant portion of Thursday night writing, so it hadn’t occured to me that I hadn’t written a post on this blog. Until Geoff asked me where it was after we went to bed. What can I say, it was a busy evening.

I spent the entire day feeling anxious and wishing I could talk to my husband. He’s not allowed to use his phone at work and only gets one 15 minute break each day, so our opportunities to communicate are very limited. It’s a hardship when the cure to my anxiety is unavailable. It’s amazing how his words can soothe me.

When I got home, the plumber had arrived to unclog the sink in our backyard which had been vexing us for weeks. I couldn’t believe how quickly and easily he got it fixed. It was done in less than 30 minutes. Then we got the bill, and my lack of comprehension was heightened even more. Apparently, plumbers make $250 an hour because we had to pay him $125. At the moment, our landlord is saying we have to pay for it, but I’m going to do a bit more research on his legal responsibilities. It seems like the landlord should be responsible for the plumbing. Hopefully we can subtract it from our rent next month.

Money is tight. We have had one extra or unforeseen expense after another this year, on top of Geoff not working for ten weeks because other people are crazy. I know we’re not the only ones feeling the strain. I’m sure a lot of people can relate to the struggle just to live and find a little happiness. I am grateful for what I have. I just wish things were a little easier.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

