RSS Feed

Dragon Slaying

Posted on

I just shared with my husband one of my favorite moments from Power of Myth, a series of interviews with Joseph Campbell. It’s the bit where he talks about the metaphor of dragons. They are a symbol of our subconscious fears or faults, the things that hold us back from getting what we really want. The things that lock us up and keep us from getting to where we need to be. I’ve been struggling against the dragons of self-loathing for many years. I’ve allowed my feelings of inadequacy to keep me from working toward things I really loved.

I feel like the launch of my food blog was the slaying of a pretty fat dragon. I’d been toying with the idea of a food blog for a couple of years, but I kept letting my dragons get in the way. I wasn’t good enough. My writing wasn’t interesting. I could never be as good as… you can pretty much put any blog there.

But then I stopped caring about that. I slayed those fears, and it has been so much fun. I actually feel freer, lighter, and more happy. I’m telling my story like only I can. I have so much work to do. I really need to take some time to make a strategy for improving my blog’s exposure in a systematic way. I need to set time aside every day to work on it.

3843e5d2f6ff8b16a2e8dd40c8c7e66d

 

My hero’s journey has taken me to the other side of the world and back again. Finding my bliss hasn’t been easy. Right now, making food and writing about it, living my life to the fullest even without money, and sharing that story, is making me quite happy. I can’t wait to see what doors the universe can open for us.

For now I will breathe deeply and keep my sword sharp.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

