RSS Feed

Rise and Report

Posted on

I know I keep saying that my husband is a hero, but dudes, seriously! Today he was a full-on hero of amazing proportions. He found my stolen scooter! It’s in the shop now being repaired, but that will cost so much less than having to buy a new one.

He declared around midday that he was going on a Pee Wee Herman-style crime scene investigation. As far as I know, he didn’t have to wrestle any fat kids in a bathtub, though. While chatting with one of his maintenance pals from the zoo, he learned that there was a blue scooter that had fallen over toward to back of the zoo on the road where we had been parked the night before. He hurried off to investigate, and found my poor trusty scooter lying on it’s side, looking all dejected and forlorn.

600897_10151381304325686_28782082_n

It turns out the idiot who stole it must not have noticed that there was a lock on the back wheel. Proof that he truly is an idiot lies in the fact that he had the key to the lock, but didn’t bother to remove it. The scooter will work with the lock on, but not very well. He must have decided to ditch it when it wasn’t running smoothly. Don’t ask me to get inside the mind of a criminal. It’s not where I want to be.

Geoff called the police again to update them. They took some fingerprints off the brakes. Who knows if that will turn up anything. I’m not big on revenge, but if we could catch the guy and at least make him pay for the repairs, that would be great. I don’t even know if that’s possible.

Geoff managed to get the scooter home and had our neighbor use his angle grinder to remove the lock. My keys are still missing, so that was the only way to remove it. He then walked the scooter to the shop we bought it from. It is most definitely NOT right around the corner. It’s probably going to be at least $100 to have new locks put in, and to replace the cracked exhaust pipe. I’m hoping there’s not any other major damage from it being driven with the lock on. I’m sure she’s a bit scratched up from being knocked over in the road, but as long as she’s still drivable, that’s all that matters.

I am so relieved to have my scooter back. I’m just not a car person anymore. My husband saved the day, yet again. And he got a horrible sunburn for his trouble. Somebody should give this man a prize.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

One response »

  1. I am so pleased for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

