RSS Feed

Confessing

Posted on

Let’s get the weird stuff out of the way first.

At this exact moment, somebody at the park is blaring horrible 80’s music. This is not what I want to be hearing in my bedroom when I’m trying to relax on a Thursday evening. Sometimes I wish I lived in the middle of nowhere. Or that I could just tell the whole world to shut up for a hot minute.

Also, every time I use/hear the word “confessing” I think of the Like a Virgin scene from Moulin Rouge. Isn’t Jim Broadbent spectacular?

So, not long after finishing my post last night, I put down my book, looked my husband in the eye, and said out loud that I really want to try to have a successful blog. I work in exactly the opposite way from him when it comes to blogging about personal feelings. He doesn’t know how he feels until he starts writing. I can’t bring myself to tell the world until I’ve said things out loud to him.

Ever since we moved here, I’ve been floundering. I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life. This is the first time I’ve really been excited about something. I feel like I know what I want to do with myself now. So what if it doesn’t make money? I have a job, but it’s not my life. It doesn’t have to define me. I’m proud to be doing the work I do now, but who knows how long that will last.

Being a blogger doesn’t involve a huge financial investment like baking does. I can put in a little bit of money at a time, nothing too crazy. Maybe someday I’ll get a free product, or a free dinner. Maybe I’ll get five bucks in ad revenue. Who cares? I’d like to be successful, but more because I just have to be good at things. I think I could learn to be good at this, and I’m going to do it.

Maybe this doesn’t come as a shock to you. I’ve been thinking out loud about this for ages. But last night, I declared my feelings. I have a goal, and I’m excited about it. I’m not going to be ashamed or embarrassed. I’m going to work my butt off and make it real. It’s something I feel like I can legitimately accomplish.

Wow, that was excessive. I’m so glad this space is here for me to just ramble. It’s what I do best.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

2 responses »

  1. Ive been blogging for ooooh about 3 days now. This post inspired me a little bit, thanks!

    Reply
    • I’ve had this blog for several years, but I just started a new food/lifestyle blog that I hope to make professional. Blogging is such a fantastic creative outlet because you can potentially do it entirely for free. Stick with it! Thanks for your sweet comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

