RSS Feed

Abundance of Aloha

Posted on

Humans have been rather disappointing lately. The news has been stressing me out. I cannot tell you how glad I am that I don’t watch TV news. That stuff is nonsense. Even so, all this killing has really gotten me down.

Today, though, I saw something truly beautiful. We woke up at 4:30 this morning and drove out to Pearl City. This was not for fun and games. Today we participated in the 24th Annual Food Drive for the Hawaii Foodbank. I saw people helping and giving in extraordinary ways.

We had about 140 volunteers at our site today. It was hot, let me tell you. Those folks stood out on street corners without  shade trying to collect money from nervous, suspicious car drivers, most of whom were desperately trying to avoid eye contact. But they kept waving those signs and holding out their fishnets and bringing in buckets of money. It was a beautiful thing. People gave food and money to help feed the hungry. This work saves lives.

In those thank you letters I’ve been writing, I keep telling people that at the Hawaii Foodbank, we believe we are all one ohana. Today, all across the island, the ohana came together to make sure nobody goes hungry. I was proud to be a small part of it.

And naturally, after hours on our feet in the hot sun, we deserved to treat ourselves. We went to The Counter, which is a design-your-own premium burger joint. Their burgers are great, but what I really wanted to try was the adult milkshakes.

376105_10152737715325293_1518464110_n

 

I had the thin mint, and Geoff had the dulce de leche. They were both amazing. I’ve already thought of a way to improve mine and make it for the blog. I’m such a nerd.

Tomorrow Geoff wants to go to this Geek Meet thing at Magic Island. I also want to make sausage rolls for the blog, since St George’s Day is coming up next week. There’s also the strong possibility of bacon cupcake action. It promises to be quite interesting.

Right now, though, it’s 8:30, and I’m seriously considering going to bed. You would not believe the amount of times I’ve had to use the backspace key on this post. The brain is not functioning at optimum levels. My books and my bed are calling to me.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

