RSS Feed

Celebrating Past My Bedtime

Posted on

A completely wonderful thing happened today. It’s almost 10 pm, and I’m not asleep yet. It’ll be okay, though. Everything’s fine. I swear.

Geoff got a job! He’s the new executive administrative assistant for Oahu Nature Tours. And he gets to wear shorts and slippers to work. And he doesn’t feel like dying anymore. So that’s pretty great. And we’ll be able to pay our rent, so that’s good, too.

We wanted to celebrate by going to Cheeseburger in Paradise. Yes, I ate a cheeseburger yesterday. Do I look like I care? It’s okay, I’ll have salad tomorrow.

So anyway….

We get to the corner and there appear to be a lot of cops standing around. I think it’s the typical HPD overreaction to some meth head. Then I notice they’re right outside the restaurant we want to go to. We try to talk to the hostess and this is when I notice the cops have their guns drawn. One guy had  a big scary looking rifle. There were at least a dozen cops. We decided to leave. As we headed further into Waikiki another three cop cars pulled over, and a bunch more cops poured out, all with various weapons unholstered. One officer’s gun clicked ( I don’t know if he was cocking it or what) and this poor Japanese girl jumped. I thought she was going to have a heart attack. It was a bit disconcerting.

Luckily, we just walked a few blocks to the next Cheeseburger on Lewers. The hostess station was a hot mess, and it took forever for our waitress to take our order, but once we got the food, it was fantastic. I had the Royal Ali’i Burger, which has bacon and a fried egg. I contend there are few things in life that cannot be improved by the addition of a fried egg.

And now my feet are killing me, and I’m completely exhausted. Come by tomorrow for chicken caesar salad and cider. We’ll continue the celebration.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! Let’s hope Geoff’s boss doesn’t have Facebook so he can resume his regular vignettes of British humor that seems to rub culturally insensitive Americans the wrong way.

    Reply
  2. Sounds like an episode from Hawaii five-0 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

