RSS Feed

When Do I Get To Call Myself a Writer?

Posted on

I wrote another blog post for Awesome on $20 all about hustling to make a buck using your hidden talents. I got to give a shout out to some really creative people. I’m hoping I can create a sense of community with my blog. There are a lot of struggling people out there. We gotta stick together.

I feel I should apologize for all the self-promoting. Then again, who else will promote me if I don’t? If I’m going to be a “blogger” with “readers” (major eye roll), somebody’s gotta get the word out. Whatever. It’ll be okay.

I’ve decided that I’d like to attempt to commit to writing three posts a week for Awesome on $20, so with the daily posts on this blog, that’s 10 posts a week. Plus, it seems that I am now writing all the thank you letters for donor services, as well as a couple other development-related things. I don’t mind; it’s totally cool. It’s the most interesting part of my job. Maybe I did get that degree for a reason after all.

I just can’t be one of those writers who agonizes over every word. I was like that when I was taking creative writing in high school. I guess maybe if I was writing something for real, I’d have to give it a bit more care and scrutiny. But mostly I just have to say whatever spills out and be done with it. I never remember to actually write all the clever things I think of while I’m cutting out laminated posters. I wish I had a digital recorder in my brain.

We went to LV’s new studio apartment tonight. My little LV is all grown up. I’m so proud. She’s going to be so much happier there with her own space. I just hope she doesn’t forget about us.

644257_10152693712895293_2129134180_n

Lastly, check out my geek photo of the day. If I fail as a blogger, it will likely be due to the fact that I forget to take photos of every single thing I do. I guess that’s a thing humans are doing now. I can’t get the hang of it. I’m just not hip enough.

Don’t let the man get you down.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

