RSS Feed

Comfy Cozy Quite Content

Posted on

I am currently sitting on my couch, wrapped in a blanket. It’s mostly quiet, and I’m finally warm. My mood’s been a bit off lately, and I probably owe my husband an apology for being generally grumpy. I’m not sure why. Nothing is bothering me. I’m going to blame it on hormones because science is a mystery to me, and that seems like the best reason I can come up with. But at this particular moment, I’m feeling perfectly lovely.

We had to evacuate the house this morning so the exterminator could treat our house. I’m going to guess it didn’t make any difference in the amount of cockroaches hiding out in our house. Geoff was worried all morning about the chickens because they had to stay in their coop until 1 pm. It’s definitely possible that our chickens are the most spoiled in all the world. I think they survived it just fine.

526864_10152647592820293_1167078119_n

We also spent some time at Kailua beach. Geoff’s parents requested it especially. The weather wasn’t exactly cooperative, but the view was as lovely as always. Kailua is such a beautiful town. The houses are unique and there are plenty of trees. What’s sadder than a neighborhood full of cookie cutter houses where all the trees have been cleared away.

We had dinner at Mexico Lindo. It was quite tasty, if a bit expensive. The ambiance was destroyed by some of the most inconsiderate young people I’ve encountered  in a long time. I don’t think the kids in the restaurant really want to hear about how f***ing awesome you are at parallel parking or the many uses of KY jelly. I’d recommend not yelling those things at the top of your lungs in a restaurant.

I also passed a bit of time journaling today, mostly contemplating what I want to be when I grow up. If you didn’t have to work, what would you do? Some people would say that is the thing you should actually be doing with your life. But there’s rent to pay, and we still have to eat three times a day. So, what do you do? Follow your dreams? Try to get over the ridiculous notion of happiness and just collect a pay check? I suppose that’s not really a fair question. It’s obvious the latter is the correct yet disappointing answer. Alas…

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

