RSS Feed

Departures

Posted on

My dad and his girlfriend set off for home this evening. The only guest left at our house now is Tank the tortoise. I hardly remember what it’s like to have the house all to ourselves. It’s a bit sad. Almost too quiet now. At least I don’t have to put up with my husband and my father ganging up on me with this nonsense about how I can achieve anything I set my mind to. What a ridiculous fantasy. Seriously, I can’t handle that many compliments all at one time. If I was going to do something interesting with my life, I would have done it by now.

429767_578514565494455_905799859_n

I’m so glad that my dad could make it out for the wedding. I probably made him work way too much, but I hope he got to have at least a little fun. He got plenty of sunshine, that’s for sure. I know Emily was thrilled to see him as well. Hopefully they’ll be back quite soon.

I sincerely hope everyone enjoyed the wedding. The reception was a bit disastrous if you look at it from a certain angle, but I’m hoping everyone had enough wine or beer that they didn’t care much. I wish I had the money to have made it a truly grand evening. I wish I could afford a caterer and a photographer. I wish nobody would have had to lift a finger. But the reality is, we’re barely scraping along above the poverty line, and I did my best. It’s over now, and it can’t be changed.

Geoff’s parents are still in town until the 20th, so we get to do a bit more hosting over the weekend. There’s certainly plenty to show off on this island. After they go home, I may hibernate for a month. I think it’s well deserved.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

