RSS Feed

In Appreciation of Quiet

Posted on

I was enjoying the quiet evening so much, I nearly forgot about you. I can’t express how lovely it was to come home from work today and have virtually nothing to do.

When I walked in, Ken and Barbara were already sitting in my living room. They are such gracious guests. They’ll eat anything I put in front of them and pretend to love it. I made pulled pork mac and cheese with some leftover kalua pig and guilted them into eating overcooked, dried out, leftover cheeseburgers. I also got them to get rid of some of the leftover cupcakes by smashing them up in a bowl with some frosting and ice cream. I can almost see space in my fridge. It’s a miracle.

Other than running to the store for groceries and some desperately needed shave gel, and then taking Ken and Barbara back to their hotel just now, I didn’t have to go anywhere. I couldn’t have been happier. It felt almost like real life again.

When it comes right down to it, I’m a simple girl. A comfortable couch, a great movie or a good book, and somebody to love me and make me laugh is all I’ll ever need. And perhaps something good to eat. Next time you have leftover pulled pork, try this recipe. It was simple and delicious, my two favorite things.

Keep it simple, kids.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

