RSS Feed

Reality Bites

Posted on

I was freezing when my alarm went off this morning. Getting out of bed was so hard after almost two weeks off, but eventually my feet hit the ground and I managed to get myself out the door.

Everyone was quite friendly upon my return to the office this morning. I had plenty of letters waiting to be revised. It appears I am now the official office letter writer. I knew I got that English degree for something. I was a bit nervous when the executive director asked me to meet her in her office this afternoon. I was even more nervous when she asked me to shut the door. She actually asked me if I’d be willing to take on a few more responsibilities and increase my hours. I’m glad it was good news this time. We could certainly use a bit more money, and I’ll take on anything I can to help the foodbank. They’re such a committed team. Their focus is on doing everything they can to end hunger, and I am thrilled to be a part of their ohana.

After work I went down to the Griggs’s hotel to take a dip in the pool. It’s not a bad life, this swimming after work. Imagine being somebody who could do that every day. Wouldn’t it be nice? We had pizza at Round Table, then Barbara made me a cup of tea. Cups of tea made by a British grandmother are the best cups of tea.

As reality goes, things may not be perfect, but it’s still pretty sweet. I’ll take what I can get.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

