RSS Feed

3 Days and Another Catastrophe

Posted on

I am exhausted to the point of illness. You may or may not get 200 words out of me tonight. I was just about the normal ridiculous amount of tired for a person who went to bed around midnight and woke up for some unknown reason around 6 am. But then everything went crazy, and I didn’t get to go to bed exactly when I hoped.

We met everybody for breakfast at the Hula Grill so we could all get to know each other a bit, then we packed everybody in the car and headed up to La’ie for a day at the Polynesian Cultural Center. I think most everyone enjoyed themselves. My favorite, as always, was the maori show. It is by far the best, and I would love it if we could one day move to New Zealand.

66919_10151265879685686_1238832196_n

But it couldn’t be all rainbows and puppy dogs. No, that just wouldn’t be me. A few minutes before the big show started, my dad spotted my aunt and my grandma’s friend running out of the theatre. He went to check on what was happening, and didn’t come back for ages. I just knew something horrible had happened.

My grandmother was ill and then fainted coming out of the bathroom. They called an ambulance and took her to Castle Medical Center in Kailua. They’re keeping her there overnight for observation, but word is, she was looking much better. Of course, she wanted everybody to just get on with their vacations and not worry about her. As if that were possible.

I can’t help but wonder if I’m being punished for being so selfish. Is this the universe’s way of reminding me that I’m not that important in the grand scheme of things and should stop thinking so much about myself and this frivolous wedding? Other people get to have weddings, and believe me, they are much more frivolous. I guess I shouldn’t choose this moment to start questioning the will of the universe. All I can do is pray that my grandmother gets better and hope that I don’t have to eat all the food in my freezer by myself.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

