RSS Feed

Becoming a Lady and Getting a License

Posted on

What if I’m a bit sleepy and don’t really feel like putting words together? What if I just want to let my mind go blank and watch Skyfall and wish for chocolate? What if I really do not want to go back to work tomorrow? Three day weekends can be such a tease.

But I have to tell you about the wonderful thing that happened this morning. I went out to do the laundry and noticed there was only one chicken hanging about under my feet. This was most unusual, as they always go everywhere together. I peeked down the side of the house and didn’t see the other one, so I told Geoff, and he went to investigate. Moments later he called me out saying, “You need to see this.” I knew the moment we’d been waiting for for months had finally arrived. We had our first egg.

16530_10152553888120293_129014055_n

It was small and adorable and speckled brown. I look forward to eating it. What’s better than farm fresh eggs? Well, backyard fresh, I suppose.

I also just applied for our marriage license online. We’ll have to present our ID to the marriage agent tomorrow, and hopefully be issued our license. I think the current plan is to just go in with our passports as ID and not mention the fact that we were married in another country unless they ask us, which they very well might since Geoff’s address is local. Hopefully they’ll let us legally get married here, so we don’t have to do the paperwork yet again in England.

I’ve made all the burgers and put them in the freezer. We went to the fabric store today and bought ribbon and netting to finish off the dress. Do I need a necklace? I probably have earrings that will do. Hmm… I can’t possibly keep track of all this. I need a dresser. The next thing I want to do before my father arrives Thursday night is to make four dozen cupcakes and put them in the freezer. Is there anything else I can check off the list? Getting married is so complicated.

Thanks for letting me babble endlessly. I guess this is what happens when I’m tired. Reinforcements will be here soon. And luckily, they’re the type you drink with. I’ll have a cocktail, please.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

