RSS Feed

One Woman’s Obsession

Posted on

As the result of a couple of poor choices yesterday involving sunblock and vodka, I woke up with a sunburn, a hangover, and the beginning of a cold. Part of me just wanted to stay in bed all day, and though we’ve been pretty lazy, we did make one important outing.

There's a window from the kitchen that we can serve food from.

There’s a window from the kitchen that we can serve food from.

We had an appointment at 11 this morning to check out our new venue for the wedding reception. It’s not exactly elegant and refined, but I think it will be a fantastic setting for the relaxed and intimate affair we want. It’s just oozing with natural beauty, and there’s a kitchen and enough tables and chairs to accommodate everyone. I think with a few simple touches, we can make it look fit for a wedding reception. A time machine may be required, but we’ll manage somehow.

A lovely lawn perfect for dancing.

A lovely lawn perfect for dancing.

I suspect my husband finds my desire to decorate at all a bit ridiculous. He may be suffering from wedding fatigue. Alas, I don’t have many friends, so he’s the only one I can talk to about it. Perhaps my expectations are excessive. Maybe I shouldn’t be asking for paper lanterns and fairy lights and tablecloths and candles in mason jars.

Getting through this wedding and everyone’s visit is pretty much the only thing on my radar screen right now. I’m trying to do as much as I can without causing anybody else too much trouble. I have no doubt that people in my life are getting tired of hearing about it. The good news is, it will all be over soon, and I’ll have to find a new obsession.

I want to cuddle up with some hot tea until I shake this cough and headache, but there’s work to be done. I’ll sleep when I’m dead.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

