RSS Feed

Not a Skill

Posted on

I have been so lucky to work with some truly kind and lovely people since arriving here in Honolulu. It wasn’t easy for me to go looking for a new kind of work, and while perhaps I haven’t found my calling, I have been able to feed myself while enjoying some very pleasant company. One thing baffles me, though. I’m not complaining, just confused.

I get the most outrageous compliments from my supervisors for doing the most menial tasks. In the past two days, I’ve been praised profusely for my pleasant manner on the telephone. Does the person in the cubicle next to me really not want to punch me after hearing me say the same thing for six hours? Apparently she finds it rather enjoyable to listen to me. I got the same sort of compliments about my phone skills at my previous assignment. I didn’t even know talking on the phone was a thing a person could be good at. You just say words. And be polite. That’s all there is to it. The crazy thing is, I hate talking on the phone and will go to great lengths to avoid it in real life.

IMG_6049

In all the jobs I’ve had since I’ve been here, I’ve never been asked to do anything particularly difficult. As shop girl or office slave, it doesn’t take a genius to do the work. In fact, I’m pretty sure a retarded monkey could do my job. Why are people so impressed by my ability to copy information from a check into a database? My twelve year old could do that.

Like I said, it’s nice to be appreciated, and trust me I’m not trying to brag. Maybe I’m just used to working my ass off and getting nothing but ridicule and blame. Is this how normal people outside of school behave? Are most other temps total asshats? I don’t get it. Firemen are amazing. I just copy stuff and push buttons. You’re creepin’ me out.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

