RSS Feed

Keeping Warm

Posted on

I live on a tropical island, but I work in a refrigerator. My office is absolutely freezing every day. I woke up feeling cold and sick, so spending a day in a frigid cubicle was the last thing I wanted to do. But temps don’t get paid if they don’t show up, so all I could do was dream about coming home and getting under a blanket and not moving. So that’s exactly what I’ve done this evening.

tumblr_mg19i76RVs1s20buto1_500

I should have done the dishes. I should have cleaned the bathroom. I should have gone for a walk and gotten some exercise. But my head is fuzzy, my feet are freezing, and I just can’t seem to find the energy to get off the couch. I’ve made myself a little cocoon, and I’m waiting for my poor overworked husband to come home. I should have made him dinner. That would have been the right thing to do. But I’m still just sitting here. Maybe he’ll show up with a pizza. One can but hope.

I’ve spent this cuddled up evening watching some Oscar nominated documentaries. Not the heartwarming kind that make you feel all happy about life and ready to conquer the world, but the infuriating kind. I’m doing my best not to rant about the military covering up rapes. It makes me want to scream every time someone blames the victim. It’s disgusting.

Okay, I tried. It pisses me off. A lot.

I’m hoping I can get to bed early and not have to go to work feeling sick again. It’s ridiculous that people should have to dress in winter clothes to work in a place that is artificially cooled. What a waste of energy.

Grab your blankets, kids. I know a lot of you are in places that are actually cold. It will make you feel better.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

