RSS Feed

Double Feature

Posted on

Today, in addition to watching the Golden Globes telecast, I also managed to watch two films. I’m a maniac. I know.

Salmon-Fishing-in-the-Yemen-poster

The first film was Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, starring Emily Blunt and Ewan McGregor. While I wasn’t blown away, I enjoyed this movie much more than I expected to, largely due to the simple and subtle performances of these two actors. Emily Blunt is just so sweet, it’s impossible to see how anyone could not fall in love with her. It bowed to some romantic conventions, but also had a few twists that gave weight and consequence to the plot. That good ol’ British repression didn’t let me down, and the main characters never even had a grand kiss, which, oddly, I liked. I wouldn’t say this was my favorite movie, but I don’t regret watching it at all.

images

I also went to the theatre today to see Les Miserables. You may find this hard to believe, but I’ve never seen this show on stage, and I’ve also never listened to a complete cast recording. I knew a few of the songs by osmosis, and I read the novel years ago, so I had a good idea of what to expect plot wise. At first, I started off skeptical, but by the end, I was definitely affected. It sucked me in.

I thought Russell Crowe gave the weakest performance. He sang like a pop idol. While I understand that the director was trying to make a different kind of movie musical here, this is still a singers show, and the music is essential. Not being able to sing well can definitely ruin the effect. Amanda Seyfried was another disappointment. Everything about her is small and birdlike. I don’t enjoy it.

Anne Hathaway and Hugh Jackman both deserve all the praise they are getting. They acted the hell out of those rolls. I felt both voices were a bit lacking. I wish they could have done both. That being said, they deserve the awards they received tonight.

The moment I really started enjoying myself was when Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baren Coen appeared on the screen. That’s when I knew I was in for an interesting ride and not just a bunch of whining.

If I was giving out awards for performances in this film, mine would go to Eddie Redmayne and Samantha Barks, who played Marius and Eponine. They were able to both act and sing their parts beautifully.  “On My Own” was my favorite song from the film.

The overall look of the film was breathtaking. The rebellion scenes were powerful. I almost wanted to join the fight.

I left the theatre humming “Can you hear the people sing,” which is always the sign of a good musical.

Overall, I’d say the day was a success.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

