RSS Feed

Onward

Posted on

The past is past. Unchangable. Nothing to do but learn from it. Let’s move forward, shall we?

I resolve to do things fairly often. I’m not sure why the first of the year seems to be the only time reserved for such activities. Do I even have a resolution? Well, I’ve never been much for doing things just because everyone else does. I’ll let you know.

188627_10152346653665293_2145709492_n

I do know that like most other souls on this Earth, I would like to be happier. And I am also aware of the hard truth that I’m the only thing that controls that. Sure, things happen in the universe that are vastly beyond my control and understanding. If a typhoon struck and swept away my home, I would have no control over that. I could, however, control how I react to it.

So resolution? Improvement? Changes? I guess I want to take more risks, enjoy more small moments, open my eyes and see more things. I want to be kinder. I want to be smarter. I want to make more people smile. I want to not worry so much about how things probably should be or what other people think. I want to be more confident in the fact that I am enough. Silly as that may sound, it’s a big challenge for me.

I do have actual things in the future that need doing. I have to throw a wedding in two months. I can no longer pretend that it’s not happening. I have to get it all done. I have a lot of people to impress and no money to do it with. Why wasn’t I born with the craft gene? That would make this all so much easier. Stay tuned for trials and tribulations.

I would also like to get off this island, if only for a few days. I henceforth resolve to travel somewhere before the end of the year. I don’t think we have the lottery here, so I guess I’ll have to go on a game show or something.

538479_10152369748415293_456315367_n

I also promise to write a blog post for each day of this year. And since two of my favorite things are food and stories, expect to see a lot of crap about what I ate, what I watched, and what I read. Yesterday it was Arbitrage and buttermilk cake with chocolate frosting. Although Richard Gere was highly emotional, the cake definitely wins.

It’s a new year. I’m searching for the hope and optimism. Maybe it will return with the sun. It’s gotta be out there somewhere. Onward and upward, right? Where else is there?

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

One response »

Leave a Reply

