RSS Feed

Words Only

Posted on

Back when I used to do something interesting and marginally important with my life, I used to occasionally give my students assignments in which they were not allowed to use any words, spoken or written, to communicate. This was an attempt to help spark their creativity and awaken parts of their brains that may not get regular exercise. The results were always intriguing and usually the students enjoyed themselves. Did it make a difference? I have no idea.

This has very little to do with today’s post, other than the fact that I don’t have any photos to share with you, so you’ll be getting exactly the opposite. Just words. No pictures.

I have felt a need, as of late, to center some attention on my spiritual well-being. Being married to an atheist, this facet of my life is often neglected. It has always been difficult to explain to people my unusual beliefs, both to people of more traditional religious views and those who profess not to believe in God. All I can say is, it’s complicated and constantly evolving.

I’ve found myself getting easily frustrated lately. I need to strive toward more compassion in my life. That requires some moments of quiet reflection. It’s something I must knowingly make time for, which is not easy for a lazy person like me to do. But I’d like to strive to be better.  More patient. More kind. And only I can change it.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

