RSS Feed

Fry It!

Posted on

I just ate something amazing. Like fifteen minutes ago. It was so delicious and so easy, I just couldn’t wait to tell you about it.

I got this recipe from my idol Nigella Lawson’s book, Kitchen. I tell you, this woman is a genius. A beautiful, brilliant genius. She calls it rapid roastini. It is supposed to be reminiscent of roast potatoes, but it takes less than ten minutes to make, and that includes opening the package. The genius part is it’s actually fried gnocchi. They’re soft and fluffy on the inside and brown and crisp on the outside. We both loved them. This is a completely brilliant idea.

I used store bought gnocchi. If you want to make your own, be my guest. I’m way too lazy for that, especially on a Tuesday night. My package of gnocchi came with a little packet of parmesan and herbs. I couldn’t let it go to waste, so I tossed it in for the last couple minutes. This was an almost equally brilliant idea on my part. The cheese added some great flavor and got nice and crispy itself. Make this ASAP. You’ll want it every night.

Here’s how I did it. You’ll need:

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 package gnocchi (parmesan herb if you can find it)

Heat the oil over medium high heat in a large frying pan.

Add the gnocchi and make sure it’s spread out in the pan. Let it fry for 3-4 minutes, then flip ’em.

Cook the gnocchi for a few minutes on the other side, letting them get brown and crispy. Sprinkle the cheese over everything for the last minute or two.

Serve these puppies up, and prepare to be astonished.

 

I’m sure you never thought of frying gnocchi before. I hadn’t either. I did it because Nigella told me to, and she was so very right. If I was a good food blogger, I would have taken a fancy picture for you, but I was too busy scarfing these down to grab my camera. Maybe next time. When you try them, you’ll understand why.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

