RSS Feed

Diets and Doors

Posted on

A couple completely unrelated and random things have been on my mind lately.  By now, you should be over the surprise.  This is basically how my mind works.

Geoff and I have both put on a few pounds over the last month or two.  With access to such great food all the time, and me working late hours, the combination of a glut of frozen pizza plus a few holiday/party meals has not necessarily been friendly to that beach body I never had in the first place.  But in an effort to stay alive longer and simultaneously feed my vanity, we’re getting back together with our old pal Live Strong.  It helped Geoff lose over 30 pounds last spring.  I’m pretty sure it can help us cut back again.

I get sort of sullen when I don’t get to eat delicious food.  This means I will have to exercise a hell of a lot more in order to be able to eat as many cookies as I want.  I did just hear a nutritionist online say that it was better to eat real butter than fake fats, so I’m pretty sure that means I can have cupcakes every day of my life.  Whatevs.  As if I really care.

Now on to the doors.  I have a board on Pinterest called Portals.  It’s a collection of photos of nothing but doors and windows.  I love looking at all of these beautiful doors and trying to imagine what’s on the other side and the type of people who walk though them.  When I was a little girl, I watched the animated version of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe over and over again.  Since then, I’ve been in love with the idea that walking through any doorway could potentially, given the proper circumstances, lead me to a magical world.  It’s a grand dream and one I plan to never let go of.

A lot of the doors I’ve collected are in far off places, and most of them are brilliantly colored.  Our Puritan ancestors in this country instilled a lot of important values in our culture.  Hard work and humility being especially valuable in my opinion.  Puritan drab, on the other hand, I’m not a fan of.  A lime green door would probably get you shunned in a lot of American neighborhoods, that is if it’s even allowed in the neighborhood association by-laws.  Land of the free indeed.  Other places in the world seem to be splashed with gorgeous and inspiring colors.  We have far too much humble brown in this country.

I’ve definitely learned through Pinterest that I absolutely adore colors.  Birds and flowers are among my most pinned objects, after cakes and cookies, of course.  I think we should all bring more color in to our lives.  Let’s stop being so quiet.  Let’s stop hiding.  Let’s be bold.  Get noticed.  Take chances.  Paint your door fuchsia.  Or something.  It will make things more interesting, and that’s never bad.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

