RSS Feed

On Location

Posted on

I woke up to a lovely surprise, even if it did have a slightly unfortunate twist.  Turns out my husband didn’t have to go in to work until 10:00 on Friday, but he didn’t remember until after he was already out of the shower and dressed.  I was happy to be able to spend a bit of extra time with him.  I’m sure he would have been happier still had he spent an extra ninety minutes sleeping.

I once again postponed my plans to go to my least favorite store for Christmas shopping.  Instead, I went to the movies by myself, which is a bit pathetic, I know, but that’s what people with no friends do.  I saw The Descendants.  You should see it, too.

When I walked in for the 11:30 show, there seemed to be nothing but a handful of old people in the audience.  I guess they’re the only ones with nothing to do on a Wednesday afternoon.  All I knew about this movie was what I’d seen in the trailer and a bit from a half-remembered NPR review or story or something.  What I quickly came to realize about this film is that every single scene was shot on location.   This is also my location.  Which made it extra awesome.  If you want to know what Honolulu really looks like, see this film.

It was a bit difficult for me to watch the scenes with the wife/mom in the hospital.  Seeing that woman lying so helpless and small amongst all those beeping hospital machines with tubes projecting from every angle brought back some horrible memories of seeing my own mother in a similar position.  And even though she died a year later, I never completely got my mom back after she was in the hospital.  I miss her a lot.  Just retelling this experience makes the tears well up.

The Descendants was a good film.  Squeezing in a matinee before work is an excellent idea.  Coming home to the sweetest husband in the world at the end of a long day and not having to be embarrassed about crying over your dead mom is extra special.  Hug someone you love.  Right now.  Because I said so.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a comment