RSS Feed

Remaking the List

Posted on

Yesterday was a sort of exciting day for me.  It’s the little things, people.  The Golden Globe nominations were announced, which means I spent way too much time updating my list, watching movie trailers, and trying to figure out where and how I could see all of these movies while spending the least amount of money possible.  I like movies.  I get excited about them.  Deal with it.

I was in a sort of lethargic and grumpy mood most of the day, and beyond household chores, I didn’t really get much else accomplished.  I did make some chocolate mousse and buy some Christmas presents for the child, so it wasn’t all bad, but I wasn’t feeling my usual day off serenity.  So let’s not talk about me.  Let’s talk about movies.  They’re awesomer.

The first movie on my list is The Descendants starring George Clooney.  He just keeps getting better and better.  I prefer quirky Clooney to political Clooney.  I think he’s sort of normal Clooney in this movie set in Hawaii about a dad with a sick/dead (?) wife who is trying to keep his rich family together on a beautiful beach.  At the very least, there will be lots of lovely things to look at.  I’m going to try to catch a matinee before work today, actually.

Next up is The Help.  I’ve obtained a copy of this film through stealthy and secret means.  (cough cough)  I have a tiny crush on Emma Stone, and Bryce Dallas Howard is brilliant.  Neither of them is nominated though.  I think all the nominations went to the black actresses in the film, and I haven’t seen it, but they probably should.  It is their story, after all.  I’ve heard great things about this film.  I’m looking forward to finding some time to sneak off and watch it.

The third and final film I’ll discuss today is Hugo.  I was all excited to go and see this while Emily was here.  It looked like a lovely and whimsical adventure.  Right up our alley.  I was a bit disappointed when she told me she’d already seen it, and even worse, it was just okay.  Well, I’m going to go see it anyway.  I mean, Scorcese and a magical mystery involving an orphaned British child.  Sounds pretty perfect to me.

Watching potentially award-winning films is one of my favorite parts of winter.  I had seen everything up to 2005, and was currently working through some 04 TV shows when the new noms came out.  I’m excited for some fresh blood.  I love stories.  I’ll never get enough.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

2 responses »

  1. Watched The Help the other night. Was a GREAT movie! I read the book last year and was very excited when I heard it was going to be made into a film. I really suggest the book after you’ve watched the film. There’s only so much they can put into a 90 minute movie, but it was done very well.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve been hearing about the book for quite a while and have been thinking about reading it, but always ended up with something else. I’ll put it on my book list to make sure I don’t miss it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

