RSS Feed

Ah, New Love

Posted on

Tuesday I got up, did some chores and then worked all day on shipment at my retail job.  I was tired.  But five minutes after I got home, Geoff called and asked if I wanted to walk down to the zoo and hang out with him while he worked the volunteer party.  My feet hurt.  My hair was a mess.  Did I say no?  Not a  chance.  I threw on a t-shirt that wasn’t advertising slippers, grabbed my iPod, and headed out the door.  I even walked extra far to get to the gate for the party which is on the completely opposite side from where we usually go in.  I was that eager.

People kept asking me why on Earth I’d want to come to a zoo party.  Well, there was free food, so that’s important.  It was outside in a lovely setting with nice music.  What’s bad about that?  But the real reason was that I just wanted to be able to spend a little more time with my husband.  Cynical people scoffed at this idea and claimed it was only because we hadn’t been together that long.  Well, guess what.  We’ve lived together a year and nine months, and I still can’t think of anybody I’d rather be with.

It’s true.  I really love this guy.  I can’t think of anybody I’d rather spend my time with.  When we’re together, everything is calmer, safer, warmer.  I laugh more.  I can be myself.  If given the choice, I’ll choose going somewhere potentially lame with my husband over being alone every single time.  And it’s not because it’s a new love.  It’s because he’s awesome.  I never ever get tired of him.  He’s my partner and my best friend and I love him and that’s all there is to it.  Even if it means walking home in the rain, I’m by his side whenever possible.  Always.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

