RSS Feed

A Face You Should Know

Posted on

I think it’s a bit of a tragedy that Tom Cruise is a household name, but when I mention Geoffrey Rush, people have no clue who I’m talking about.  After watching The Life and Death of Peter Sellers on Friday, my admiration for this actor was strongly reaffirmed.  Rush won a Golden Globe for his portrayal of Sellers and several other characters in this TV film in 2004.  There’s no question that he deserved it.

Rush also played Lionel Logue in The King’s Speech.  I loved this movie.  Don’t believe me?  Read this.  You can check out his IMDB link above to see the other amazing films he’s contributed to, like Elizabeth and Shakespeare In Love.  I loved him in Quills where he played the Marquise de Sade opposite my favorite actress, Kate Winslet.  Oh, and let’s not forget his Oscar-winning performance in Shine.  Quite an impressive resume.

Probably his best known role is as Captain Barbossa in the wildly popular Pirates of the Carribean movies.  How can you not be charmed by him?  Why isn’t he outrageously famous?  He could act the pants off Tom Cruise, and yet, no one knows who he is.  My theory is that it’s because he’s not a sex symbol.  People who are extremely talented but not extremely beautiful often go unnoticed by the general public.  I find this to be slightly tragic.

If you’re bored with all the same old Hollywood movies, take some time to catch up on some Geoffrey Rush movies you might have missed.  You won’t be disappointed.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

