RSS Feed

What Saturday Used to Feel Like

Posted on

Tuesday night, we turned off our alarms.  I was so happy to hit the pillow.  I mean, my eyes weren’t even working.  And when Wednesday morning came, there was no annoying beeping waking me up.  We woke up when we were ready.  It was beautiful.  And to make it even better, there was bacon waiting in the kitchen.  Super bonus was, I didn’t have to cook it.  Geoff whipped up his excellent bacon egg and cheese sandwiches with coffee or hot chocolate, for those who think coffee is disgusting.  We ate in the back garden.  It may have started to lightly rain halfway through, but I didn’t let that stop me from enjoying this glorious morning with my husband in the sun.

We decided to walk to Ala Moana, which is always farther away than it seems when you first start out.  But I had recently decided to put my old divorce jeans in the Goodwill pile, reducing my jeans collection by 50%.  I recently read somewhere that Hilary Duff has over fifty pairs of jeans.  I thought I deserved at least two, so we hit up Old Navy, and I found a pair on clearance that Geoff said made my butt look sexy.  They were fourteen dollars, so I took them home.

By the time we walked back, we were hot and sweaty and a bit tired, but I was glad to have gotten the exercise.  I had another treat coming up, a fancy Aveda spa pedicure.  I so desperately needed this.  My feet were super disgusting, man.  Like you would not believe.  I’ve never had a pedicure from a pretty blond girl.  I’m sure that former prom queen was secretly thinking about how nasty my feet were and wishing that she spoke Vietnamese so that she could talk about me behind my back like they do in all the other nail shops.

For dinner, I made pancakes and Geoff cooked up the rest of the bacon from that morning.  Later he made jam tarts, and I ate way too many because they were so outrageously delicious.  It was a wonderful, beautiful day.  I got to spend almost the entire day with my man.  That guy is pretty awesome.  And I have the entire weekend off.  I think we’re throwing an all day Star Wars movie marathon party complete with drinking games.  Wanna come over?

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

