RSS Feed

Comfort

Posted on

Absolutely nothing interesting happened on Wednesday.  Wait, let me think…  No, nothing.  I bought a Groupon for a nice mani/pedi, but that’s the only thing out of the ordinary.  I’m pretty excited, too, because my hands and feet are a mess from my job.  So let’s talk about something else.

Fall in Hawaii means we have high temperatures in the low 80’s instead of the high 80’s, and it drops below 70 at night.  There can be a bit more wind and clouds, and certainly a lot more rain.  It’s difficult to keep track of time here when the weather is this lovely all year round.  I have to keep reminding myself that it’s actually December.  Occasionally, you do need a light jacket, and a couple of times I’ve woken up feeling pretty cold under my light cotton blanket.

There’s no excuse like cold weather to get out all the things that make you feel comfy and cozy.  One of those things for me has to be hot chocolate.  I love it.  My mom made it for us all the time when we were kids.  We had one of those super hot water taps in our kitchen, so it took about ten seconds.  For breakfast, we’d have buttered toast dipped into our hot chocolate.  I’m pretty sure my brother and I are the only people on the planet who ever ate that.

Yesterday I bought myself a bag of these.  It was only with the greatest show of restraint that I didn’t just go ahead and eat every last one.  These are another thing that reminds me of my mom.  Something I only ate when I was a kid.  She loved them, and I do, too.  They are definitely the wrong kind of processed sugary food.  I have no idea what’s in them, and I don’t want to look.  I don’t eat them often enough to worry about it.  Once a year won’t kill me.

I also adore scarves.  I would wear them all the time if I could get away with it.  Unfortunately, I don’t have that many anymore, and I can’t really afford to buy new ones.  Something I’ve always wanted but will never attain is a white cashmere scarf.  It’s got to be one of the softest most beautiful most unnecessary objects there is.  A girl can dream, though.

Sometimes I miss fall.  I miss boots and scarves and jackets and seeing your breath on the air.  I miss the fall leaves, the beautiful colors, and the sound of them crunching under your feet.  But when all you Northern folks are freezing your tails off, I’ll be at the beach with my grill watching the waves roll in here in my tropical paradise.  I guess you can’t have it all.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

