RSS Feed

So What Does One Wear to a Samba Event at a Pool Hall?

Posted on

I have to admit, I was exceedingly skeptical about this fundraiser that Geoff had gotten us tickets for.  One of his zoo wives was going to be performing at a samba and capoeira demonstration, and he bought tickets early, so we had no choice.  After a relaxing morning home alone and an afternoon of lunch and shopping in Waikiki (this is not as glamorous as it sounds, it was Subway and Ross) we had a glorious nap.  It was the deepest sleep I can remember experiencing in a long time.  When I woke up, the thought of going out was not at the top of my list.

But we decided to carpool with some of the other zoo wives, and I found something to wear, and we headed out the door.  The first thing we did was order drinks, which makes everything more fun, and then I had a cookie.  Off to a good start so far.  The show was interesting, Lindsey won a Brazillian bikini, and there was a waitress who kept us from fighting our way back to the bar.  I tried to learn the samba and failed.  Geoff eventually won at pool.  By far my favorite part of the night was talking with people who I feel might actually be becoming my friends.  It was nice to be able to share conversation and laughs without feeling any pressure to be normal.  When you’ve always been the weird girl, that’s an important moment.

We ended the night with everybody eating ice cream in the living room straight out of the container.  I’d say that’s pretty much the best way to end any night.  If only all evenings could end in Ben and Jerry’s.  Now that’s a dream.  We’re forming a family here.  I like it.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

