RSS Feed

Let the Madness Begin

Posted on

For those of you who have to make the entire Thanksgiving meal on your own, you know that this holiday actually starts the day before, as does any holiday that involves a multi-course, multi-dish meal.  Luckily, I finally managed to get Wednesday off.  Alas, my immune system was not so kind, and I was still feeling pretty crummy on Wednesday.  Sinus headache, runny nose, cough, stuff like that.  Nothing serious, just enough to sap my energy on a day when I really needed it.

I started the day with caramel.  Normally, I wouldn’t recommend doing something that can cause serious burns so early in the morning, but I had a cheesecake to finish off and be delivered to a waiting customer, so it was out of the bed and in to the kitchen to cook sugar for this lonely baker.  The cheesecake came out beautifully, but I still had to drag myself to the mall on my day off to buy a box which I had forgotten to do the evening before.  I managed to get the car out of our tricky driveway and deliver the cheesecake to the zoo offices before 11:00.  Unfortunately, by this time I felt my stuffy head had already earned me a nap.

When I woke up, I began to steel myself for the long trip to Target.  See, we were going to be feeding five people the next day.  I have four plates.  I’m terrible at math, and even I know that’s a problem.  Target is completely on the other side of Honolulu, well past the airport, but I just couldn’t bring myself to take the car.  I was by myself, I wasn’t buying anything that wouldn’t fit on the scooter.  So, after about fifty minutes of driving, I finally made it.  I managed to leave with some pretty blue dishes, a gold tablecloth, a scented candle, a cute apron, and some aviator sunglasses all for seventy dollars.  Not too bad.  I love that store.  It’s probably a good thing that it’s such a pain to get there.

By the time I got home, it was time to go meet Geoff after work.  He had a few errands to run after work.  We went to Safeway the night before Thanksgiving, forgot two things and had to go back and wait in huge lines each time.  What a mad house.  I fixed grilled cheese and tomato soup for dinner.  It really did make me feel better.

Nourished, I finally had the strength to make a pumpkin cheesecake, mix up the swiss and bacon dip to be heated the next day, make the cranberry sauce, and prepare the brine for the turkey.  The container we bought didn’t allow for the turkey to be completely submerged with the amount of brine, so I got up in the middle of the night to flip it over.  The things we do to show our family we love them.

Thanksgiving truly is my favorite holiday.  It’s a lot of work, but I love preparing food for people, and this day most of all.  I even enjoy the stress of it to a certain extent.  I wish I had been a bit healthier.  I probably would have found the energy to make some caramel and whipped cream for the cheesecake.  But I think getting to bed before midnight on Thanksgiving eve is a pretty good accomplishment.

P.S.  It’s is my goal to end the time warp today.  Sorry I’m such a slacker.

P.P.S  After reading the first draft, I realized I forgot the part where I had to go back to the mall a second time because I forgot to leave my Magnolia key the other day and the new girl needed it.  This was between dinner and cheesecake.  It was raining.  Also, at one point I melted the bottom of a plastic bag on the stove and dumped brown sugar all over the kitchen.  I’m awesome.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Turkey Day « Project 11

Leave a Reply

