RSS Feed

Black Friday

Posted on

If you know me at all, you know that I hate waking up early.  My brain does not work properly.  It’s not even a matter of having my coffee first.  I hate coffee, and caffeine doesn’t do much for me most of the time.  It’s really just a matter of not talking to me for an hour.  I’ll be grumpy and incoherent.  So why the hell was my alarm going off at 5:45 am on Friday?  Well, as much as I hate getting up early, I still prefer it to work.  Given the choice, I’d rather just get up early and get it over with so I can enjoy my evening.  So I volunteered to open on black Friday.

Our garage doors went up at 7:00 am.  I got there in time to get some breakfast at McDonald’s before clocking in at 6:45.  The mall was very quiet most of the morning.  My guess is, all the people were getting their good deals at the big box stores early in the morning.  The mall didn’t get busy until later in the afternooon.  Around the time I left.  Insert evil laugh here.

Getting up that early left me in a daze though, and since Geoff was still at work, I took a nap.  I love naps.  I would love to be a cat.  I wouldn’t be expected to be nice all the time, and I could sleep whenever I wanted.  I was awoken by Geoff arriving home from work, which took me by surprise as I had left the phone on the bed for him to call me so I could walk down and meet him.  He called, but either the phone didn’t ring, or I somehow slept through it because there he was beside me.  This is when I discovered he’d eaten ALL the gravy.  I had been thinking about eating left over mashed potatoes and gravy all day.  My irritation was a bit irrational, I admit.  Remember, I’m grumpy when I first wake up.

I don’t understand why Black Friday has become so insane.  I understand a nice fun leisurely shopping trip on your day off, but why the stampedes?  Why the early hours?  Some stores opened at midnight.  I had customers in the store who told me they had been shopping literally all night long.  Does that seem insane to anybody else?  Are we really that greedy?  Are we really that desperate?  I just don’t understand why somebody would want someone else to have to be at work at midnight after a holiday, or four in the morning, or any other ungodly hour.  I had it easy.  We didn’t open until 7:00.  But I feel so bad for those people who were working the midnight to 8:00 am shift at Macy’s just so somebody could get a good deal on…  I don’t even know what.  Can you really not wait until the morning to get that?  It’s incomprehensible to me.  Stay home, people.  Enjoy your time off with your family.  And let retail employees enjoy their families, too.  Relax.  The stuff you use to give purpose to your life will still be there if the store doesn’t open until 10:00.  And seriously, stop with the shoving.  It’s just embarrassing to the rest of the species.

Rant over.  Almost back to real time.  Thanks for being in my head.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

