RSS Feed

On Staying in Bed

Posted on

Tuesdays are consistently my toughest day at work.  Island Sole receives their shipment on that day, and there is, undoubtedly, a great amount of physical labor to be done.  I’m usually pretty worn out when it’s all done.

Wednesdays are usually one of my easiest days.  I don’t go into work until 5:00 pm, so it’s the closest thing I have to a day off.  The debate is always whether I should relax and enjoy it or get my butt up and do some work.  My house is a mess.  There’s shopping and errands that need to be done.  The world awaits.  And yet, there’s also a soft bed inviting me to be ever so lazy.  It’s nearly impossible to resist.

I am a profoundly lazy person.  I never view reading a book or watching a movie as wasting time.  Consuming the stories of our generation serves to lead us to a deeper understanding of our culture and humanity in general.  Staying in bed and reading a book could be the path to becoming one with the universe.

Seriously though, somebody tell me it’s okay to just hang out right here all day with my library books and my laptop.  I don’t want to do the dishes.  I don’t want to fold the laundry.  I want hot chocolate and literature and soft pillows today.  I want to go to other places without ever leaving my bed.  I want to be comfortable and cozy.

Damn, it’s time to clean the kitchen.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

2 responses »

  1. I hope you opted to hang out 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

