RSS Feed

Now I Really Owe You

Posted on

It seems somehow I am behind by three posts.  I owe you for Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.  Let me assure you, not much has happened.

Thursday, I woke up and made pie dough.  I followed the instructions carefully and tried to remember everything I’d seen on Food Network years ago.  I used very cold butter and eggs, but only used regular tap water instead of ice water, mostly out of laziness.  It came together so quickly in my food processor and had  a lovely yellow hue from the egg yolks.  Everything looked right, and the bits of dough that were stuck to the side of the food processor tasted great.  As I wrapped it and put it in the fridge, I was quite satisfied.

That was all before 8:00 am.  I took a shower and got ready for work.  I tried to buy a peppermint hot chocolate at McDonald’s, but the extremely slow girl made me a  peppermint mocha instead which was completely undrinkable as I can’t manage to consume things with even trace amounts of coffee.  No, I’m not allergic, I just think it’s disgusting.  Work was decent enough.  Nothing too exciting happened.  It just was.

I was still pretty tired when I came home, though.  Luckily, my husband looks for any and every excuse to eat frozen pizza, so that’s what we had for dinner.  He sweetly put it in the oven for us so I could sit down and veg out for a minute.  This was when I realized that a certain boutique owner had screwed me over once more.  Wednesday, she offered to let me leave that job sooner.  She had hired two people, so if I needed to concentrate on my other job, it was okay.  This is what she said in her email.  When I replied that I would check with my other boss and see if she needed me sooner but could I please have off the night before Thanksgiving so I could get some prep work done as I was cooking for six people the next day, she came back with basically, “There’s no way I can give you that day off.  Thank you for staying until the 26th.”  So what would she have done on that night if I had said I was going to quit earlier, which is what I was about to say when I got that email?  She drives me insane.  I can’t find the words to express just how much everything she does makes my blood boil.

After eating delicious pizza, there was a tart to bake.  I rolled out the dough, baked off the crust, and assembled the ganache.  I love ganache.  I pretty much want to swim in it.  I love the moment when it turns all glossy.  I also love how the smell of the chocolate is enriched by the flavorings added to it.  What smells better than vanilla hitting warm ganache?  It’s heaven.  I poured the cooled ganache into the now baked tart shell and tucked it away in the fridge to be decorated in the morning.

I’m still working on finishing those four books, but as you can see, things have been a bit busy around here.  I’m off at five today, so I promise to write at least one more post this evening.  Not that you were waiting.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

