RSS Feed

Wasting Away

Posted on

Up until I turned 21, I danced probably six hours a day.  During my senior year in high school, I was on two dance teams, took and taught studio classes, and did two plays.  My body was moving in extraordinary ways on a pretty regular basis.  I was in excellent shape, even though I ate terrible food all the time.  I never had to think a second about my weight.

After my daughter was born, I was no longer able to keep up the pace. I danced a few hours each day while finishing my degree, but never again at the level that I was at before.  Then once I graduated, I mostly just taught dance and only performed occasionally.  When we left Oklahoma, my opportunities to dance nearly disappeared.  I taught some beginner classes to girls not remotely interested in dancing and did a couple of shows that were fun but didn’t really include any strenuous dancing.  I took Tae Kwon Do for a while and later ballroom dance.  I tried to stay active, but it wasn’t easy.

And then once I moved to Taiwan, the only exercise I managed was long walks through the city, and the occasional hike.  It’s hard to take dance lessons in a language you don’t understand.

The point of all this rambling is that I’m still really sore today from riding horses.  Sometimes I miss being sore.  I miss pushing my body to its limits.  I am seriously out of shape.  I get tired walking up a hill.  The problem is, I loathe exercise for exercise’s sake.  I can’t stand the idea of going to the gym, or jogging.  If exercise isn’t a natural part of something interesting and enjoyable, it’s just torture to me.  I have absolutely no interest.  I am not so fat as to bring on the desperation that would be required for me to get on a treadmill.  And you know I’m not going on a diet.

So what’s the conclusion?  I guess there isn’t one.  Sonny beat me up on Sunday.  I need to find something else that will beat me up.  Preferably something free or extremely low cost.  Any suggestions?

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

2 responses »

  1. Right there with ya. Some days I seriously miss dancing. Lately I’ve been perusing the workout dvd’s on our Netflix; they have some pretty great yoga and pilates ones! Those don’t seem like workouts, like the treadmill does, and it reminds me of dance class so it works for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

