RSS Feed

Directionless

Posted on

Starting out this morning with no idea what to write about.  Absolutely none at all.  But as I’ve told my students hundreds of times, just say something.  No matter what you do, don’t stop writing.  Who cares if it doesn’t make sense yet.  That’s what editing is for.  Except this blog isn’t really edited.  Oops.  It is proofread, but it’s mostly stream of consciousness garbage.  But still, it has to be written.

I’m making treacle toffee today.  I have no idea what it is.  I’ve never even seen it before, let alone tasted it.  Mine will probably technically be molasses toffee as treacle is not available here.  I’m not entirely sure what the difference is.  But hopefully it will make my husband feel more at home.  I know he gets terribly homesick.  What with having to eat a giant turkey dinner this month instead of setting people’s houses on fire.  Speaking of homesick, who has a good parsnip recipe?  I’ve got to be thinking about my Christmas menu already, and he’s requested parsnips, which I’ve never even touched.

Turns out I’ve got my first Treatsies order.  I’m making a caramel cheesecake for one of Geoff’s coworkers for Thanksgiving.  I’m excited that somebody liked one of my desserts enough that they actually want to not only pay me for it, but feed it to the masses at their Thanksgiving meal.

I think I’ve hit my requisite 200 word minimum.  It’s been a rambling sort of morning.  There’s plenty to be done before work starts at 2:00.  There also might be a crowd of drunk people in my living room when I get home.  There’s no telling with my husband’s social life.

In rambling conclusion, I would like to point out that the last three weeks of working at Magnolia cannot go by fast enough.  There’s a line in a Gillian Welch song that says “Never minded workin’ hard, it’s who I’m workin’ for.”  I think that about says it all.  Rant averted.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

