RSS Feed

All Snow White Up In Here

Posted on

I spend a lot of time at the mall these days.  And I don’t even get to come home with anything cute unless it’s given to me for work.  Four new pairs of flip flops, while appreciated, don’t really sate my fashion lust.  But with all of this time away from home, it’s been difficult to keep up with the housework.  Warning:  The images you are about to see may be offensive to those of you who always have a spotlessly clean house.  P.S.  You suck.

Even with my husband doing some of the dishes the night before, there was plenty left to wash up in the sink.  Remnants of the peanut butter pie I made Monday night.  I left for work early on Tuesday and fell asleep by 8:00 pm, so by Wednesday morning, all this stuff was still hanging around.

Exhaustion also means I just let thing stay wherever they land in the living room.  You honestly expect me to walk all the way to the trash can or the laundry basket?  Give me a break.  That stuff can just stay where it is for a little while longer.

This picture doesn’t even show the heap of books and cords on my side of the bed.  It does, however, feature the pile of dirty laundry waiting to be washed, hung up, and put away, as well as the empty cup of tea that allowed me to actually get out of bed and take these photos.

I spent all of Wednesday morning dutifully cleaning my apartment.  I even vacuumed.  I hate cleaning.  It’s not my forte.  But for the lack of merrily singing woodland creatures, it was like something out of a fairy tale in here.  I never clean that much in one day, but I wanted my prince to come home to a shining castle.

I know some people are neat freaks and would never dream of making toast without lifting up the toaster to clean underneath it.  Not my style.  My house never gets that disgusting.  Mostly just a bit untidy.  But it only gets cleaned once a day, time allowing.  I have more important things to do.

So now everything is nicely wash, folded, put away, and disinfected.  I had the pleasure of taking a walk to the beach with my husband on Wednesday afternoon, since he had a half day, and I didn’t have to work until 5:00.  I love that guy.  He’s amazing.  Beach time is truly quality time with him.  I’m always grateful for it and wish there was more.

It feels nice to be lounging around a clean house.  Now to get up the energy to do something about the stupid recycling.  I just can’t bring myself to put it out with the trash.  I shall sigh and rise from my bed to wrestle with it.  What should I buy with my two dollars?

 

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

