RSS Feed

Successful Avoidance

Posted on

We went out again last night to the Irish pub to meet up with Geoff’s zoo harem.  I was apprehensive about going out with a bunch of people I’ve never met, especially since they all had something in common that I didn’t share, but it turns out the night was quite successful.

I’m quite sure I’ve mentioned before that I’m no fan of small talk.  I don’t really see the point of wasting my energy to open my mouth and talk about things that are uninteresting and inconsequential.  Luckily, the evening was full of interesting conversation about important things.  And a little bit about Harry Potter and The Hunger Games, which I find immensely important.  Nobody asked me questions that were too personal, and yet I still felt as if I connected and shared within the confines of my own personal boundaries.  For somebody who is intensely socially awkward, I give the night a big A+.

Previous to that, I managed to sell absolutely nothing for four hours at work.  Instead, I spent most of my time thinking about how I don’t actually like it there, and I don’t care much for my boss, and I don’t know how I’m going to get out of that situation if the circumstance ever arises, which my other manager has suggested is quite possible.  As soon as I can get on full-time at Island Sole, I’m going to have to leave Magnolia.  It’s the best thing for me.  Unfortunately, I still feel immensely guilty about it.

I spent the morning walking along the entire two mile stretch of beach in Waikiki looking for seals.  We didn’t find any, but we did spot some amazingly beautiful, large, electric blue fish.  Nobody knew what they were, but they were gorgeous.  I enjoyed getting to spend some good quality time with my husband.  I really like that guy.

So now my throat is killing me, and I smell like an ashtray, but I have a rare day off, so I intend to recover by taking in some historical sights downtown, walking hand in hand with my husband.  Life is sweet.  And that was a long sentence.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

