RSS Feed

Back Where I Belong

Posted on

Last night, I made cookies.  It was glorious.  I felt so contented as I mixed butter and sugar.  I loved watching the deep red dried cranberries disappear into the pale cookie dough.  It was a joy to see the crisp golden edges on the cookies as each batch came out of the oven.  It was wonderful to have the time to do what I love.

I was also surprised by how much I actually loved these cookies.  Usually I don’t approve of fruit and nuts getting between me and my sugar/chocolate fix, but these white chocolate cranberry macadamia nut cookies were delicious.  They were buttery and soft on the inside and crisp around the edges.  The bits of dried cranberry gave a burst of sour sweetness, but since I chopped them up, the pieces weren’t big enough to get stuck in your teeth.  This, however, does not mean I will be eating raisins any time soon.  They are still disgusting.

It was nice to get off work during daylight hours.  I got to make dinner with/for my husband.  I think my fingertips might still be burning from handling Geoff’s first precious habanero pepper.  I am grateful to have work, but I miss evenings with my husband spent laughing, eating, and talking about life.  I sometimes think that starting a bakery is just completely stupid.  It will never work.  But last night was a reminder that if I want to do what I love, a bakery is exactly where I need to be.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

