RSS Feed

The Long Haul

Posted on

I’m looking at the calendar, and I work every day between now and October 15th, which is the last day for which the Island Sole schedule is written.  This new job is good.  It’s pretty easy, but stimulating enough to keep me from banging my head against the wall.  The people I work with are also really nice.  I found on my second day that my ability to bullshit about slippers is better than I expected.  I wish she had called me a week earlier so that I wouldn’t have taken the position at Magnolia.  I could have asked for full-time at Island Sole and then maybe had a day off once in a while.

I know there are plenty of people in the world who work seven days a week for low pay.  I shouldn’t complain, but my feet hurt, and I’m just not used to it yet.  If I want to eat, I have to work.  That is the reality of life.  And I do love to eat.  Things will become clear in the future.

In the meantime, I live in one of the most beautiful places on earth.  When I can ever get out of the mall, I have expansive views of the ocean on one side and the mountains on the other.  It is absolutely breathtaking.  I realize that I have much to be grateful for.  I have someone in my life who takes great care of me, and that is truly worth savoring.  I’m taking a deep breath today and reminding myself that life is beautiful, even when you never get a day off.  I can handle it.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

