RSS Feed

A Million Reasons

Posted on

I almost forgot to write my post for yesterday.  Where’s my mind these days?  Mostly on how to get my hands on some elusive pumpkin puree.  No, not pumpkin pie mix.  It’s not the same.

I can think of endless reasons why it’s a terrible idea for me to start my own business.  I feel compelled to enumerate them.  It’s important for skeptics to recognize that I acknowledge this is potentially a bad idea.  I’m gonna do it anyway.

1.  I have the world’s worst credit.  I don’t really want to talk about it.  I won’t be getting a loan.  Period.  The end.

2.  I’ve never taken a business class in my life.  I don’t know the first thing about it other than what I’ve read in a book.  If it’s beyond common sense, I probably haven’t heard of it.

3.  I don’t have a car.  I have no desire to buy a car.  I love my scooter.  I have no intention of buying a four-wheeled vehicle unless it’s being used to actually sell baked goods out of.

4.  I’ve never made more than about 6 dozen baked goods at a go.  Granted, that was with a tiny oven where I had to bake everything six at a time.  I suppose it might be easier with a full size oven, or even the possibility of multiple ovens in the commercial kitchen.

5.  I’m a bit shy and afraid of talking to people on the phone.  I don’t have any problem chatting with customers, it’s talking to all the bureaucrats and vendors that gives me a stomach ache.  Ugh.  I hate it.

6.  There are already plenty of great bakers out there.  Plus, baking is really easy and most people can do it themselves.  I mean…  If I can do it then you can.  Why should someone pay $2.50 for one of my cupcakes?

7.  I now know about four people on this island.  Word of mouth is doomed.

8.  I don’t know anything about graphic design.  The website is hopeless.

Okay, this is getting depressing.  There are a lot of obstacles to overcome.  Here’s the thing.  I’m gonna do it anyway.  I’m not trying to start a baking empire.  Just a little table on the corner or at a farmer’s market.  I’m quite happy to take it slow.  You can’t stop me.  Don’t even try.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

3 responses »

  1. Sounds exciting, and hope you don’t give up on it. It’s easy to think we need to approach things like everyone else, and it seems that if you do start your own business, it won’t be a cliche bake shop like everyone else you see.

    Reply
  2. As for the website, Geoff is quite good at that sort of thing, and his cousin Steve should be good, as he works in IT. Maybe you could come to an arrangement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

