RSS Feed

Opportunity Knocks

Posted on

Yesterday morning, my husband discovered on Facebook that it was his boss’s birthday today.  He asked me to make a cake.  No idea what kind.  Just any cake.  So he got the first cake recipe I came to that I hadn’t made yet and thought looked good.  A chocolate cake with ground almonds and a thin creamy frosting drizzling down the side of the cake.  I think it turned out looking pretty yummy.  I’m sad I won’t get to taste any of it, as it’s off to an office party without me.  I hope she likes it.  I think the texture of the cake will be really nice with all of the bits of ground almond running through it.

Just after those cakes went into the oven, I looked at my phone only to discover that my new boss wanted me to come into work.  I told her I could be there as soon as my cakes got out of the oven, so while they were baking, I rushed around trying to make myself look presentable.  Then as soon as I got the cakes onto cooling racks, I was out the door.

When I got to work, Maggie started telling me about her store’s big one year anniversary party that is being catered by a French chef and will be attended by a bunch of rich people and would I be interested in making some cupcakes for her to sample and if she likes them, she’d like me to do a dessert table for the party.  Yikes.  Of course, my dance training being what it is, I said yes, even though I’ve never done anything like this before and I’m not sure how I’m going to accomplish it.  It’s at the beginning of November, which means I have a little more than a month to get a business license and plan a menu and test recipes.  Am I going to have to design a tablescape?  Barf.

This could be a really good opportunity.  Or a major disaster.  I’m hoping for more of the opportunity part.  I’ve already got a couple of ideas for what to make using products from her store.  I hope it all works out okay.  I’m already nervous about it.  Here goes nothin’.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

