RSS Feed

Letting Other People Do the Work

Posted on

I worked another short training shift yesterday.  I didn’t wear heels, and it busier than usual, so the time went by really quickly.  However, the timing of this shift precluded me from making dinner.  Not to worry, there was left over chicken chili in the fridge.  And yet, after having it for dinner the night before, and lunch earlier that day, I was in the mood for something different.  Instead of coming up with a clever way to reinvent my chili, I opted for the easy way out, letting someone else make something.

I suggested, and Geoff, thankfully, agreed that we should get some sweet potato fries to go from Burgers on the Edge.  It’s a tiny burger place less than one block from our apartment, just in front of Safeway.  Geoff also had something he needed from the grocery store, so we went there first.  While inside, Geoff uttered the magic word, dessert.  I’ve been craving dessert for a while now, but managed to fend off that usually ravenous desire with a few chocolate chips.  But once that word came out of his mouth, I knew it was over.  There was no way I was getting out of that store without something from the bakery.  I spotted it right away.  White cake with white frosting, something you never get unless you’re at a wedding.  I wanted it.  I needed it.  I’d die without it.  Geoff decided to have Safeway brand Dr. Pepper for his “dessert.”  The man has no sense of gluttonous adventure sometimes.  I mean, first he was gonna go with yogurt, and then opted for soda?  Are you kidding me?

We picked up the sweet potato fries and walked back home in the rain.  I put my chili in the microwave to reheat, but I couldn’t resist.  Those crisp delicious fries were just sitting there, taunting me, and I had to tear into them.  These babies might be my new favorite food.  They’re salty and crispy and a little bit sweet.  Not greasy at all.  They even made Geoff do a little delicious dance.  We inhaled them in about five minutes.  They were way more satisfying than third time chili.

The cake started out good.  Moist cake and creamy frosting.  I was shocked out how long the ingredients list was on the sticker, though.  I’ve made a lot of cakes, I know exactly what goes in them.  This label had way more than flour, sugar, butter, and eggs.  I didn’t realize you could even fit so many chemicals into a cake.  The label was full of unpronouncables.  It’s been a long time since I’ve eaten something from a grocery store bakery, and after the stomach ache I got off of this delicious, sugary, chemical-laden concoction, I think this is one job I’ll continue to do myself.  As for the sweet potato fries, I’ll leave that to the experts.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Will Power « Project 11

Leave a Reply

