RSS Feed

New Kicks

Posted on

When I left Taiwan, I had to get rid of a lot of my possessions.  Not nearly as many as when I moved to Taiwan, but still, cuts had to be made.  Among the things I abandoned were several pair of shoes, including my sexy black 40’s looking high heels.  They were super cute but quite beat up.  I thought it hardly worth the precious suitcase space to carry beat up old shoes with me to the middle of the ocean.  The problem is, I didn’t have any nice looking black heels anymore that I could wear to respectable places, like a new job.

So this morning, I went to Ross in search of professional/hot black shoes.  They’re a necessity.  Trust me.  I found a great pair for only $16, so they became mine.  This opened up about half of the things in my closet to become work wear.  The other half will be unlocked once I buy a white bra.  Look, getting dressed as a giant in a hot Asian country isn’t always easy, people.  I am not fully equipped for the real world.

I wore these hot sling back platform peep-toes to work today.  I haven’t worn heels in months.  It’s been all flip flops all the time for ages.  My feet were not prepared for this.  I could tell instantly that the muscles in my feet were not accustomed to walking in the shoes of a real woman.  It’s time to get back in shape.  I am not resigned to wearing sensible shoes just yet.  My feet were killing me by the end of my very short shift, but I am determined to build up my high heel stamina.

I came home and made chunky chicken chili.  It was delish and spicy, as always.  I did not, however, make pumpkin scones today like I had hoped.  I went to two different stores, and both had only pumpkin pie mix, not pumpkin puree.  I felt like I was back in a foreign country again, running all over town trying to find ingredients.  I’ll try Costco, and then Whole Foods, if I have to.  If I can’t find it, I’ll probably cry.  Am I asking too much of the world?  All I need is a can of pumpkin.  The universe is conspiring against me.  Okay, that’s probably a bit dramatic.  I just really want to eat pumpkin scones.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

