RSS Feed

Atypical

Posted on

I woke up this morning and went through my normal routine.  The first step is to go back to sleep for a half an hour while Geoff is exercising and/or occupying the bathroom.  Then I stretch and groan and open my laptop.  Yes, I know it’s pathetic that the first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is check my email and Facebook.  Whatever.

After I’ve caught up on everything that happened while I was sleeping, I kiss my husband on his way out the door, and then I scan Craigslist for any new job postings.  I sent out a number of emails for jobs this morning, including one for retail sales at a privately owned shop at Kahala mall.  Usually I send these emails out and nothing ever happens.  It’s like my email cover letters just disappear into the void.

Next I tidy up the house.  Today that entailed dishes and folding laundry.  I also had to take Geoff’s scooter into the shop today for some minor repairs.  Notice, I haven’t taken a shower yet.  I was just going to get hot and sweaty while out running errands and thought it better to wait until after I returned to get clean.  After dropping off the scooter at the shop, I checked my phone and saw I had a voicemail.  That’s odd.  Who would be calling me?  This is where my day becomes decidedly abnormal.

It was Maggie from Magnolia saying she’d received my email and wanted to meet me.  I called her back.  No answer.  She called me back while I was wasting time in Walmart (it’s so cold in there) and asked if I could come in for an interview today.  Um…  yeah, sure no problem.  I’m only stranded in the vicinity of the scooter shop with my hair in a ponytail wearing a strapless dress.  Okay, that’s not what I said.  I was polite and obliging and set up an interview for 2.

Luckily, the scooter was ready at exactly 12:30, just like the guy said it would be.  I got home at one, giving me time to change, put on makeup, and try to do something with my out of control hair.  Still no shower, but the perfume totally covered that up.  I hope.

I got there with enough time to spy out the shop from behind a sign, and eat lunch so I wouldn’t pass out mid-interview.  Maggie’s store, Magnolia, is filled with antique European furniture and home decor.  There are breakable things at every turn lining very narrow paths through the store.  I neglected to mention that I’m notoriously clumsy in my interview.  They also sell imported olive oil, honey, mustard, and a few other gourmet products.  It’s lovely stuff.  The kind of stuff I can’t even dream of affording.  All a bit too fancy for my personal style, but I can see why other people would want it.

Apparently, Maggie had only just barely glanced at my resume.  This is probably a good thing, as I was able to charm her with my wit and willingness to do just about anything for a bit of income.  It’s not the ideal job.  It’s low-paying and probably bad hours, but it’s money coming in.  It also gives me the time to work on what I really want to be doing, which is getting Treatsies off the ground.  Right now, it’s sunk in a hole that reaches nearly to the center of the Earth.  Finding the money to get through all the rules and red tape to start even the smallest business is daunting.  But I’m convinced there’s a way.

So, I start work tomorrow.  Wish me luck.  Call me if you need any European antique furniture.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

One response »

  1. Congratulations! I’m sure you will be wonderful and charm everyone into buying loads and loads of honey and furniture 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

