RSS Feed

Rejected

Posted on

I’m feeling slightly down today after getting a rejection email for the job I interviewed for yesterday.  Let’s have a pity party.  Does it involve ice cream?  I’m so there.

I spent the day calling every secondary school within 30 minutes of my house asking if they need subs.  I emailed resumes, filled out applications, dealt with confused secretaries, and battled bureaucracy.  I’m worn out.

On the bright side, I got eight cans of black beans for like $5.50 at Costco.  Each day should have at least one triumph.

We’re hooked on Hornsby cider.  Try some.  Make sure it’s really cold.  It’s delicious.

I’m struggling for something to say here.  I feel like I’m banging my head against a wall.  I have lots of things I want to do.  The bakery blog.  The bakery itself.  The wedding.  I can’t do any of those things until I have an income.  I’m trying to be patient.  I believe a path will open up for me, but I’m ready to start tearing down it right now.

In the meantime, I’m still literally dreaming about cookie dough.  I have a serious problem.  An intervention may be necessary.  Step away from the mixer.  Nice and slow.  That’s it.

Anybody want to give me a job?  Or just some money?  I promise I’ll use it wisely.  Ugh.  Let’s try again tomorrow.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

5 responses »

  1. Hi Renee,

    I have no idea how I came across this blog, but here is my advice. I was once out of a job for 3 months when the global financial crisis hit, it was painful. I was rejected by everyone – everywhere. I remember there was this one time I got rejected I literally threw my poweraide bottle against my living room wall I was that angry. Blue went every, not very nice, hard to clean up.

    But then it hit me. This anger is coming from a foundation of motivation to get something I want. Yes I failed, now that I think about it – it was more 4 months of failure. But instead of being sorry for myself, I would review my own work, make my resume sharper, look the part, studying the companies.

    Then one day I got a call back from one of Australias biggest digital publishers to come in for an interview; and I’ll tell you what, I prepared for that interview like my fucking life depended on it. In a way it did… and guess what? I got the job!! That was almost 4 years ago and since then I have moved on to bigger and better things. I developed myself every day.

    The point I am trying to make is, it is a jungle out there. You have to be ruthless. Always prepare like this is your last shot, like this is the last job on this planet and you want it so bad you can taste it. Yes you’ll get knocked back, but who the hell wants to stay on the ground? Get back up.. next!

    There are two types of people in this world:
    1) People who give up and end up jobless and with a job they hate.
    2) And people who are hungry motherf*ckers who seperate heaven and earth to get what want.

    The question is: Which one are you?

    Now go get em! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Oh and excuse my language – that was meant to have a motivational ring to it. haha!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the pep talk Zak. And curse all you like. It keeps things interesting. Glad to hear you made it through the hard times. I shall start getting my ass in gear first thing in the morning. 🙂

      Reply
  3. for the bakery, have you considered kickstarter? write something really awesome and persuasive (check out some successful campaigns) and see if you can get a little starting capital. it’ll give you something to do at least!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

